The Toronto Region Builder Award was created to recognize individuals who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to making the Toronto region a better place to live, work and learn through volunteerism, exemplary leadership or financial commitment. This may include life-long service, inspiring charitable work, community building or other noteworthy achievements. The award recipient is selected by a panel of judges.



2017: Susan McIsaac, Past President, United Way Toronto & York Region
2016: Ed Clark, former President & CEO, TD Bank Group
2015: Larry Tanenbaum, CEO, Kilmer Van Nostrand
2014: Sheldon Levy, former President & Vice Chancellor, Ryerson University
2013: Leo Del Zotto, CEO, Tridel


Think you know the next Toronto Region Builder Award recipient?
Submit your nomination ideas by August 15:

Nominate Toronto Region Builder


2017 Toronto Region Builder Award Recipient: Susan McIsaac
“I am honoured to receive the Board of Trade’s Toronto Region Builder Award. As Torontonians we are fortunate to live in a region where business leaders are actively working to address the prosperity gap. They recognize how critical closing this gap is to ensuring the Toronto region remains a great place for everyone to live, work and raise a family.”
Susan McIsaac, 2017 Toronto Region Builder Award Recipient